Sacred Waters

A recurrent theme in my explorations over the last few years is that of sacred waters. Waters rising from the ground in springs and wells carry a sense of the riches of the dark underworld coming into consciousness. Still waters in a lake or pond echo calm perception. The roaring, tumbling waters of the rivers and sea show irresistible strength.

I live in a watery place between the River Thames and River Mole. I’m surrounded by reservoirs, and all the land has been worked over the centuries to drain and channel the waters. I suspect that a few thousand years ago this would all have been marsh land, reedbeds and gravel banks threaded by streams and pools.

Rivers

A few years ago I was inspired to begin tracing the River Mole to its source, as much to learn its song as to see the sights. I haven’t got all that far yet, but I’m enjoying the journey. You can read about it at my blog To the Source of the River Mole!

CIMG0861

I’m always interested in others sharing their experiences and I’ve recently been introduced to an interesting website called Sacred Waters which has some great guidelines for relating to rivers. A favourite one is “Having chosen a special place where you can be intimate, offer gifts and listen to the water song. Find out what gifts your river likes, and how she wants to receive them.” You can see the other suggestions here.

Wells and Springs

I enjoy visiting wells and springs around the country – when we treat them right we may be able to hear the Voices in the Wells. There are quite a few around where I live, and I try to visit other ones when I am travelling. Some are very rough and ready, but others are still well cared for. This picture shows the Holy Well at Southam in Warwickshire, which I visited with friends last year.

20140322_122614

I’m glad to say that visiting wells and springs is becoming a more popular activity, and there are lots of great resources available on the internet to help us find out about them and find them. For example, here is a link to the Southam Holy Well on the Holy and Healing Wells website.

I’m also particularly pleased when I read about people on the same kind of exploration as myself. Here is an article about Coventina’s Well near Hadrian’s Wall on The Path of the Awenydd blog, and an article on Nith’s Estuary in the From Peneverdant blog. More power to you explorers of the otherworld!

Rod /|\

Sgwd yr Eira, Brecon Beacons National Park

Sgwd yr Eira, Brecon Beacons National Park

About singinghead

druid, mathematician, blogger, gardener...
This entry was posted in Magical Life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Sacred Waters

  1. crychydd says:

    Many thanks for sharing these links and pictures. Good to see the photo of Sgwd yr Eira, a place I have often visited.

  2. Reblogged this on BART Station Bard and commented:
    A wonderful take on sacred waters in Albion–amazing the things you can run across by chance.

  3. Thank you for all the wonderful images and information! Out here in California on the shores of the Western Sea, where we are short of water I am looking for more ways to connect. You are straight from the source!

    • singinghead says:

      Thanks for your comments, and I like your blog! I used to live in San Francisco so I sympathise with you in this dry period. When I lived there, about 1982 I think it rained for about six weeks continuously so I hope it happens again!

Leave a Reply

